Connect with us


It’s Official: COVID-19 Restrictions Return for Europe, U.K., Ireland & Brazil



Moments ago White House Press Secretary Jen Pskai announced that President Biden will be maintaining the previous entry restrictions imposed on travelers from 26 countries in Europe that allow travel across open borders, called the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom, Ireland and Brazil.

Former President Donald Trump imposed similar restrictions on travelers from Brazil and Europe but ordered that those bans be lifted two days before his term ended.

Jen Psaki criticized Trump’s announcement to lift travel restrictions, writing in a tweet last week, “With the pandemic worsening, and more contagious variants emerging around the world, this is not the time to be lifting restrictions on international travel. We plan to strengthen public health measures around international travel in order to further mitigate the spread of COVID-19.” She reiterated that sentiment during her announcement this afternoon at The White House.

Also travelers from South Africa have been added to the entry restriction list due to a new strain of the virus discovered in the region.

As of tomorrow, January 26, 2020 all international travelers headed to the United States must provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within three days of travel. The proof must be supplied to the airline of carriage prior to departure.

You can read the Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Non-Immigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus Disease, here. 

Comments & Discussion